Currently Implementing Tribes

There are currently 25 Tribes implementing VAWA Special Domestic Violence Criminal Jurisdiction (SDVCJ) across the United States. To learn more about each, click the individual tribe's name below. 

Note: The following list and map were updated June 2019.

The Pascua Yaqui Tribe in Arizona

The Tulalip Tribes in Washington

The Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Indian Reservation (CTUIR) in Oregon

The Assiniboine and Sioux Tribes of the Fort Peck Indian Reservation in Montana

The Sisseton-Wahpeton Oyate of the Lake Traverse Reservation in North and South Dakota

The Little Traverse Bay Band of Odawa Indians in Michigan

The Alabama-Coushatta Tribe of Texas

The Choctaw Nation in Oklahoma

The Eastern Band of Cherokee Indians in North Carolina

The Seminole Nation in Oklahoma

The Sac and Fox Nation in Oklahoma

The Kickapoo Tribe of Oklahoma

The Nottawaseppi Huron Band of Potawatomi in Michigan

The Muscogee (Creek) Nation in Oklahoma

The Standing Rock Sioux Tribe in North and South Dakota

The Sault Ste. Marie Tribe of Chippewa in Michigan

The Chitimacha Tribe of Louisiana

The Lower Elwha Klallam Tribe in Washington

Quinault Nation

Cherokee Nation of Oklahoma

Gila River Indian Community

Port Gamble S’Klallam Tribe

Confederated Tribes of the Chehalis Reservation

Grand Traverse Band of Ottawa and Chippewa Indians

Suquamish Tribe