Implementing Tribes – 5 Years In

As of the 5-year anniversary of VAWA 2013 the National Congress of American Indians (NCAI) is aware of a total of 18 tribes who have opted to implement SDVCJ.  Those tribes have lands within the borders of 11 different states across the nation, and represent a great diversity of Native nations.

Tribes Implementing SDVCJ in the First Five Years:

The Pascua Yaqui Tribe in Arizona

The Tulalip Tribes in Washington

The Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Indian Reservation (CTUIR) in Oregon

The Assiniboine and Sioux Tribes of the Fort Peck Indian Reservation in Montana

The Sisseton-Wahpeton Oyate of the Lake Traverse Reservation in North and South Dakota

The Little Traverse Bay Band of Odawa Indians in Michigan

The Alabama-Coushatta Tribe of Texas

The Choctaw Nation in Oklahoma

The Eastern Band of Cherokee Indians in North Carolina

The Seminole Nation in Oklahoma

The Sac and Fox Nation in Oklahoma

The Kickapoo Tribe of Oklahoma

The Nottawaseppi Huron Band of Potawatomi in Michigan

The Muscogee (Creek) Nation in Oklahoma

The Standing Rock Sioux Tribe in North and South Dakota

The Sault Ste. Marie Tribe of Chippewa in Michigan

The Chitimacha Tribe of Louisiana

The Lower Elwha Klallam Tribe in Washington