NCAI Leadership

NCAI members elect the organization’s Executive Committee - the NCAI President, 1st Vice President, Recording Secretary, and Treasurer. These are elected by the entire membership. The 12 Regional Vice Presidents are elected by their respective regions. All board members serve for two-year terms. 

President, Jefferson Keel

NCAI President,
Jefferson Keel

Jefferson Keel serves as the 22nd President of the National Congress of American Indians (NCAI), the oldest, largest and most representative American Indian and Alaska Native tribal government organization in the country. President Keel was elected on October 2017 at NCAI’s 74th Annual Convention to serve a third nonconsecutive term as President of NCAI. 

Read President Jefferson Keel's Full Bio


Executive Committee

Members of NCAI's Executive Committee

The NCAI Executive Committee consists of the President, 1st Vice President, Recording Secretary, Treasurer, and 12 regional Vice-Presidents, in addition to 12 Alternate Regional VPs.

At the 72nd Annual Convention held in San Diego, California NCAI elected the members of the 2015–2016 NCAI Executive Committee.

View NCAI's full Executive Committee

Executive Director, Jacqueline Pata

NCAI Executive Director,
Jacqueline Pata

Jacqueline Pata has served as Executive Director of the National Congress of American Indians since 2001. She is a member of the Raven/Sockeye Clan of the Tlingit Tribe (pronounced – Kling-get) and a member of the Central Council of the Tlingit-Haida Indian Tribes of Alaska. Mrs. Pata served as the Deputy Assistant Secretary for Native American Programs of the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) during the Clinton Administration.

Read Executive Director Jacqueline Pata’s Full Bio

Past Leadership

The past and current NCAI leadership and membership represent the prominent leaders and advocates who have helped shape the past and future of Indian Country.

View the full list of past NCAI Leadership