Climate Action Task Force

NCAI established its Climate Action Task Force (CATF) to document, inform, and support the climate action efforts of tribal nations and organizations, and identify and advocate for policies and funding designed to empower their ability to engage in effective, sustainable climate action.

NCAI’s Climate Action Task Force is co-chaired by four tribal leaders:

  • Melanie Bahnke, President, Kawerak, Inc.
  • Brian Cladoosby, Chairman, Swinomish Indian Tribal Community
  • Beverly Cook, Tribal Chief, St. Regis Mohawk Tribe
  • Stephen Roe Lewis, Governor, Gila River Indian Community

Supporting and informing CATF’s work is the CATF Technical Committee, which is composed of 22 total members as follows: technical experts from each of Indian Country’s 12 regions, six at-large representatives who can speak to tribal climate action issues and priorities at the national and international levels, two Native elder representatives, and two Native youth representatives.

Key Links

Funding Opportunities – October 2019

National Indian Health Board: Mini-Award Funding for Climate and Health Communication - On October 9, 2019, the National Indian Health Board (NIHB) released a call for applications for their Climate Ready Tribes Initiative Mini-Award(s) for Climate and Health Communication. This opportunity is designed to fund up to three American Indian and Alaska Native tribal nations to conduct low-cost, local work related to tribal climate health. Each awardee will receive up to $5,000. For more information on the mini-award or to download the application, click here

DOE Announces Intent to Issue New Funding Opportunity for Tribal Energy Infrastructure Development - On September 26, 2019, Under Secretary Mark Menezes announced that the Office of Indian Energy Policy and Programs issues a Notice of Intent to issue a funding opportunity announcement (FOA) entitled "Energy Infrastructure Development on Indian Lands - 2020." Through the FOA, the Department of Energy's (DOE) Office of Indian Energy intends to solicit applications from tribal nations, which, for the purposes of the FOA, include Alaska Native Regional Corporations and Village Corporations, inter-tribal organizations, and Tribal Energy Development Organizations. To read the DOE's announcement about the FOA, click here.