National Congress of American Indians Elects 2021-2023 Executive Committee at 78th Annual Convention

Published on Oct 14, 2021

On Thursday, October 14, 2021, the National Congress of American Indians (NCAI) swore in the newly elected 2021-2023 NCAI Executive Committee at the “Building Together” 78th Annual Convention. The Executive Committee is comprised of four Executive Board Officers and Regional Vice-Presidents and Alternates from each of the 12 NCAI regions.

Quinault Vice President Fawn Sharp, who was elected to her second term as President of NCAI by acclamation, expressed a message of unity and healing on the horizon for Indian Country.

"I am honored and humbled beyond words by the faith entrusted in me by Tribal leaders, elders, and youth from every section of the country and from every imaginable indigenous background,” said Sharp. “We have been through so much the last few years, and the challenges on the horizon seem even greater, but we are the generation of leaders our ancestors were waiting for. Thanks to the infinite grace and mercy of our Creator, I believe that together we will make the coming years an era of reconciliation, restoration, and healing for indigenous peoples here and around the world."

President Sharp is joined by newly elected NCAI First Vice President Mark Macarro, who also serves as the Chairman of the Pechanga Band of Luiseno Indians.

“I’m deeply grateful for the support, trust, and confidence from Indian Country. I especially thank Lance Gumbs and Juana Majel-Dixon for their candidacies and voices,” said Macarro. “I’m ready to get to work with NCAI and look forward to serving Indian Country in protecting and advancing our tribal sovereignty and communities.”

Sault Ste. Marie Tribe of Chippewa Indians Chairperson Aaron Payment and Stockbridge-Munsee Band of Mohican Indians President Shannon Holsey were elected by acclamation to the positions of NCAI Recording Secretary and NCAI Treasurer, respectively.

“I am humbled to join President Fawn Sharp and Treasurer Shannon Holsey to have been unanimously elected by acclamation by our peers to continue to serve as Officers and look forward to working alongside our new First Vice President, Mark Macarro,” said Payment. “I promise to advocate for all tribes as strongly as I advocate for my own.”

“This pandemic taught us about resilience and fortitude, but also about adaptation,” said Holsey. “As we move forward, it is critical as the oldest, largest, and most representative American Indian and Alaska Native organization to realign our priorities to meet the enormous needs of our Tribal Nations with inclusion, transparency, and mindfulness as our organization continues to help build a stronger and brighter Indian Country.”

The NCAI Executive Board Officers are joined by Regional Vice Presidents and Alternates from the 12 NCAI regions. Elected by their respective Regional Caucuses, the Regional Vice Presidents and Alternates serve alongside the Executive Board Officers for a two-year term. The 2021-2023 Regional Area Vice Presidents and Alternates are listed below:

Alaska Vice-President: Mike Williams
Alaska Alternate: Rob Sanderson, Jr.

Northwest Vice-President: Melvin Sheldon, Jr.
Northwest Alternate: Leonard Forsman

Great Plains Vice-President: Harold Frazier
Great Plains Alternate: Kevin Killer

Western Vice-President: Stephen Roe Lewis
Western Alternate: Bernadine Burnette

Southwest Vice-President: Joe Garcia
Southwest Alternate: J. Michael Chavarria

Southern Plains Vice-President: Gonzo Flores
Southern Alternate: Nita Battise

Midwest Vice-President: Rebecca Crooks-Stratton
Midwest Alternate: Shelley Buck

Eastern Oklahoma Vice-President: Norman Hildebrand
Eastern Oklahoma Alternate: David Woerz

Pacific Vice-President: Jack Potter
Pacific Alternate: Erica Rae Macias

Northeast Vice-President: Lance Gumbs
Northeast Alternate: Rodney Butler

Southeast Vice-President: Reggie Tupponce
Southeast Alternate: Lora Ann Chaisson

                                                                               # # #

About the National Congress of American Indians:
Founded in 1944, the National Congress of American Indians is the oldest, largest and most representative American Indian and Alaska Native organization in the country. NCAI advocates on behalf of tribal governments and communities, promoting strong tribal-federal government-to-government policies, and promoting a better understanding among the general public regarding American Indian and Alaska Native governments, people and rights. For more information, visit

Subscribe to our News RSS